A minor operation for me, a major event for you…

Dear 7E,

Just when you needed me, the bureaucracy at the hospital decided it was the right time for me to have my goitre operation. Very nice of them to care, but really, what bad timing… Still, I’m not worried about you and the Night of Notables at all. You are so hard-working and creative, you’ll do fine without me. Sob.

Ros cartoon 2009 with operation scarI do hope to come in on the night, sporting my neck scar, to admire your displays, ask you questions and take photographs. In the meantime, here are some details to let you know what should happen in the next two weeks:

  • Monday 19 October: Introduction to the Medieval Period

Woodcut of knight kindly provided by www.fromoldbooks.org

1373-Wood-cut-of-a-Knight-q75-1976x1713

If you were at the cricket round-robin on Thursday, you would have missed the booklet. I’ve given it to your substitute teacher for you. Rachel and Jen have even decorated the cover for you.

  • Tuesday 20 October: Time to work on the Night of Notables
  • Wednesday 21 October: Same
  • Thursday 22 October – our double:

Medieval face from http retrokat.com medieval(Medieval face from http://retrokat.com)Period 3: The Anglo-Saxons – a crossword and a sheet on Anglo-Saxon riddles and runes. You can make up your own riddles if you like and leave one in a comment on this blog. By then I should be home from hospital and needing cheering up.

Period 4: Video about knights and castles. You can also have a look in the red book, “In Search of History”, at the back of Room 107. In chapter 3 it shows you a fine picture of a motte and bailey castle.

Tuesday 27 October – that’s THE DAY AND THE NIGHT OF NOTABLES!Facade Red

I’ve booked you into the library for this class so that you can do any little jobs you still need to do. I’ve booked the computers too. Your substitute teacher can toss out any interlopers who try to stop you from using them. (No violence, please.)

Chaucer - works of - pic from -pd wwwfromoldbooksorg

From www.fromoldbooks.org: A picture from an old books of Chaucer’s works

Wednesday 28 October – You’ll be tired on this day! I’m leaving you some work on the history of English on this blog. You’ll need your i-pod earphones. Try to remember to bring them with you to class.

Thursday 29 October – VikingsVikings01 phillipmartin

Picture kindly provided by www.phillipmartin.com

Then I should be in the classroom with you once more, if I’ve got my voice, my health and my energy back. Take care and I’ll be thinking of you all.

Pic of Ms G by JenJen’s little picture of me. Thanks, Jen!

Kind regards,

Ms Green.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *