Pictures and Puzzles

Dear 7X,

There are only four weeks of History left. The subject, that is, not the story of humanity. The story of humanity will go on, whether we’re in the same classroom or not. Nevertheless, it will be a wrench to lose a class like you, especially since you do such beautiful work, create such wonderful pictures and write such poetic riddles. Here are a few illuminated letters to make this blog glow, as though you were visiting a medieval scriptorium:

Illuminated letter Jan 7X 2010Illuminated letter Eugene 7X 2010

Jan                                                                               Eugene

Illuminated letter Tegan 7X 2010Illuminated letter Emily 7X 2010

Tegan                                                                  Emily

Illuminated letter Sarah 2 7X 2010 Illuminated letter Bella 7X 2010

Sarah                                                                                    Bella

Illuminated letter Shelley 7X 2010Illuminated letter Bridget 7X 2010

Shelley                                                       Bridget

Illuminated letter Kyle 7X 2010

Kyle

Illuminated letter Ashley 7X 2010Ashley Illuminated letter by Dion 7X 2010 DionIlluminated letter bookmark Kirthika 7X 2010A bookmark by Kirthika (obviously)

Illuminated letter Rachel 7X 2010Rachel

Illuminated letter Sarah 7X 2010Illuminated letter Evangeline 7X2010

Sarah                                                                             Evangeline

And now, let’s go further back in history, to some riddles inspired by the Anglo-Saxon proclivity for word play and metaphor:

A Riddle by Michael, 7X 2010

Can you guess what I am?

On ships I am.

Many I have led.

People follow me

And I shall lead.

Save me for when you are lost.

South I find.

(The first letters give this one away, in case you can’t figure it out.)

Another Riddle by Michael

I am the cause of life and death.

I fall through hands faster than water.

I am in chests and on maps.

I am one man’s treasure and one man’s want.

What am I?

See the answer below, if you need it.

A Riddle by Evangeline

I beat with strength

Yet I hurt none.

To a poet’s mind

I’m easily lost or broken.

I am always running

Yet I am rarely tired.

Treat me badly

And I will fail you.

Use me well

And I will serve you.

Life is a race to me

For when I near the end

I slow, and then I stop forever.

What am I?

(See the bottom of this post for the answer if you need it.)

I love the riddle below by Bridget, because every line is a riddle, as well as the whole five lines together. You’ll see what I mean.

Bridget’s Riddle 7X, 2010

Another whip though punished I am not.

Teachers and I have something in common.

A thatched roof lies above me.

Something precious lies behind me;

The world lies in front of me.

See the answers at the bottom of this post.

Jan’s Riddle 7X, 2010

The world is my home.

In the sky is where I live,

I run along the breeze,

I squeeze through the cracks,

I am loved and used every day,

But nobody realizes.

I will always know where my destiny lies;

To serve the beating hearts.

Answers:

Michael’s riddles – compass, money

Evangeline’s riddle – heart

Bridget’s riddle in order of the lines: 1. eyelash 2. pupil 3. eyebrow 4. brain 5. seeing

Answer for the whole riddle – eye

Jan’s riddle – air

Thanks for all your wonderful work, 7X!

Kind regards from Ms Green.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 Replies to “Pictures and Puzzles”

  1. To the entire class: your artistic abilities are ENVIABLE! I am astonished by your creativity and I wish, with all my heart, that I had your brilliant gifts.

    All the riddles were fantastic, too, especially Bridget’s – that really makes you think.

    This comment is just to voice my delight and envy at seeing the wonderful pieces of art posted by Ms. Green.

    Keep on with the good work, everyone!

    Evangeline

  2. i must say bridget your riddle was quit hard to work out. as for Evangalin’s it was beautifully done and a real brain teaser
    jan’s is a work of art

    i can’t comment on my own work can i

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *