Research Task on Ancient Egypt, 2013 / Night of Notables …

Click on the snippet from your research task in order to download it.

Roslyn square avatarDear 7C,

Today there are two tasks vying for your attention.

♦The first is a short research task on ancient Egypt.
♦The second is preparation for the Night of Notables.

Some of you still need to choose the person you would like to research. Others are ready to start reading and taking notes.

Last year my students really enjoyed the research and the event. Here are some comments from them:

 

People keep saying to me, "Did you taste that girl's macaroons?" I reply, "You mean Brooke. She's one of MY students." They repeat the question: "But did you taste them?" No, but just looking at them made me happy.
Brooke’s Macaroon Tower, Night of Notables, 2012

Brooke: Overall, the night was very memorable and significant and something that I’ll remember for a long time…Leading up to the occasion everyone was in quite a rush to put the finishing touches to their tables. If I had to improve something looking back now, I would have preferred to have a more structured table that was presented more clearly. Something that stood out to me on the night was the atmosphere that surrounded the room, everyone was full of energy.

Caleb: What I really liked about the Night of Notables was everyone’s costumes. It was good to see everyone in their costumes and relate them to their notable person. Something that I thought I did well leading up to the evening was having everything already organised so that I did not have to run out at the last minute for a costume or add-ons to the poster.

Gus's costume made everyone want to play the next level.
Gus’s costume, Night of Notables, 2012

 I am proud of my poster and how it looked. Considering how much work I put in, I hoped it was going to turn out well and I think it did. Something that I think I could have done better is having more interactive things on my table. This I think would have brought more people to my table and food would also do the same.

I think that Gus and Lachlan had the best setup. They had interactive things such as games on the computer and awesome outfits to go with their notable person.

Year 7C History Research Task 2013

DUE DATE: Two weeks after the term holidays

Here is a link to the British Museum site, which will provide a wealth of possibilities for the task on finding a primary source on ancient Egypt. Look on the left-hand side of the page at the “highlight objects”.

British Museum – thousands of artefacts from all around the world

This website will also help you to appreciate the life of an Egyptian peasant farmer:

PBS Website – A day in the life of a peasant farmer

Kind regards,

Ms Green.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *