Riddles in the Anglo-Saxon style from the bright minds of S1X, 2011

thoughtThe Anglo-Saxons had a passion for words and puzzles. Many of their riddles can still be read and enjoyed. They are poetic and imaginative, like you, my students in S1X. I think that when you read the Anglo-Saxons’ riddles you can visualise their existence, living close to the natural world as they did, observing their surroundings closely, making up word puzzles to intrigue one another through the long, dark evenings.

In the same way, your riddles, S2X, show your bright, inquisitive minds and your quick thought processes, even though you have many more entertainment options open to you during winter evenings than the Anglo-Saxons did.

autumn leaft

clovertree_falltree_summer

sunset

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

A Riddle in the Anglo-Saxon Style, by Lachlan

You cannot buy me but I am worth a million.

I am precious but not gold.

I have no value unless used.

I am contained inside a container.

What am I?

See end of post for solution.

******************************

A Riddle by Bob

I am a wonderful story teller. I roam around, telling stories and weaving facts into them. My friends and I are hurting the earth as we make more friends.

People once hated me and my friends and burnt us. A listener and story-lover took me and kept me safe from the fire. Now I have a home and I travel to a new place every time someone wants to hear my story.

See end of post for solution.

******************************

Emma’s Riddle

We are one, but single. We leave the safety of our city to plunder, though our victims are willing to give, for without us they would die. Our loot keeps us alive and feeds our children. We bear two colours, but we are not tigers. Without us, the natural world would lose its colour and beauty.

See end of post for solution.

******************************

Emily’s Riddle

The looking glass you view is the pathway to my thoughts.

Your fingers are my masters, they send me on my missions.

When I am ordered to do too much, I cease my work in a cry for help.

Though you may mock me, I am the knowledge you don’t have.

See end of post for solution.

******************************

Sam’s Riddle

When I am taken away from my protector, I become wet. Sometimes I get crushed immediately but not always. Other times I become forced to nothingness. You need something to hold me. To most I am a delight to be around.

(I was sure the answer to this was ice, but I was wrong.)

See end of post for solution.

******************************

Andrew’s Riddle

The wind is my slave.

I do little but receive much praise.

When I look up I see the earth.

I have three blades but never fight.

See end of post for solution.

******************************

Arun’s Riddle

I am looked at every day,

Any time from night to day.

I can be dropped from any height.

If not careful I can split.

I can be punched with holes

Or bruised with blue, red or black.

Another riddle by Arun:

Often I must ally myself with the wind and fight the waves.

I must push the big pieces of wood under me.

If I do not succeed I will go the wrong way;

If I am not used I rest along a wooden pole.

What am I?

***************************************************


chestnut

oak_acorndandelion

Lachlan’s answer: Memory and knowledge

Bob’s answer: A book

Emma’s answer: Bees

Emily’s answer: A computer

Sam’s answer: A lollipop

Andrew’s answer: A fan

Arun’s answer: An exercise book

His second riddle: A sail on a boat

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

7 Replies to “Riddles in the Anglo-Saxon style from the bright minds of S1X, 2011”

  1. Hi Ms Green,
    Just wanted to let you know that we aren’t in year 8!! You keep on writing we are in S2X, but we aren’t!!

    However I like it that you are comparing our work to the quality of a year eight. Also, thankyou for putting my riddle on the Blog.

    Best Wishes,
    Emily.

  2. You’re quick to notice, Arun! I’m glad you don’t mind. It’s a very clever riddle. You’ve done well.

  3. Whoops! I keep doing that! I’ve corrected it, Emily. Honestly, I blame PT night. It wears out my middle-aged brain. Your riddle deserved to be put on the blog. I should be thanking you for letting me publish it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *